Voting in this year’s Council elections

March 14, 2012
Watch the video and find out more.

Allyson and Joan selected for election

January 31, 2012


LABOUR has announced its list of candidates for the Falkirk Council elections on May 3.

The Party is fielding 16 candidates – including five new candidates and five women candidates.

At a glance:

* 16 candidates named
* 5
new candidates
5 women candidates
3 to leave Labour benches

The candidates are pictured above at the famous Falkirk Wheel.

In Grangemouth, sitting Councillor Allyson Black, the Depute Provost, will stand alongside newcomer Joan Paterson.

The town’s other Labour Councillor, Alistair McNeill, is standing down at the elections – as is Councillor Stephen Fry.

Councillor Joe Lemetti was not selected by local party members to re-contest his seat in Falkirk for Labour and will therefore leave the Labour benches this spring.

Margaret Doran, chair of Linlithgow and East Falkirk Constituency Party, said: “Labour councillors in Falkirk have achieved much in the past five years, despite an SNP government who continue to freeze and squeeze local authority budgets whilst centralising more power in Edinburgh. These 16 outstanding candidates are committed to involving local people in making local decision about how to continue to improve council services.”

Martin Murray, chair of Falkirk Constituency Party, said: “ I would hope that the Labour Party will retain control of the Council as a bastion of local democracy, faced with the SNP’s increasing centralisation of power in Edinburgh. In light of the council tax freeze reducing local accountability, and reducing services, while disproportionately benefiting the rich, we need champions who will put the people of Falkirk Council before separatist and centralist dogma. Our candidates give the public that chance.”

The candidates are:

· Ward 1, Bo’ness & Blackness

o David Aitchison, Adrian Mahoney

· Ward 2, Grangemouth

o Allyson Black, Joan Paterson

· Ward 3, Denny & Banknock

o Jim Blackwood, Terrie Hay

· Ward 4, Carse, Kinnaird & Tryst

o Charles MacDonald, Craig Martin

· Ward 5, Bonnybridge & Larbert

o Linda Gow

· Ward 6, Falkirk North

o Craig R. Martin, Pat Reid

· Ward 7, Falkirk South

o Dennis Goldie, Gerry Goldie

· Ward 8, Lower Braes

o Alan Nimmo

· Ward 9, Upper Braes

o Rosie Murray, John McLuckie

Note to Editor: for further information please contact Ian Peattie, tel. 01324 471787 email:

Ed Miliband is new Labour leader

September 25, 2010

Ed Miliband ED Miliband has today been elected as the new leader of the Labour Party, following a vote by party members, MPs, and affiliated organistations.

The new leader – who visited West Lothian just a few weeks ago – said: “Today a new generation has stepped forward to change our party. We are united in our mission to transform Labour so that, once again, we stand up for the hardworking majority who play by the rules and want a less divided and more prosperous Britain. I know we have a lot of work to do. The journey starts today."

Jubliant Michael wins for Labour

May 7, 2010


A JUBILANT Michael Connarty was today re-elected as the area’s Labour MP – with an increased majority and share of the vote.

Mr Connarty comfortably won the Linlithgow and East Falkirk seat with 25,634 votes – more than 12,500 ahead of his nearest rival Nationalist Tam Smith (who polled 13081). The Lib Dems and Conservatives were placed third and fourth.

The full results are on the BBC website and The Falkirk Herald website.

The announcement came around 2 a.m. at the count at West Lothian College in Livingston. Michael is pictured with supporters and workers from Grangemouth and Bo’ness after the result was announced.

Labour also held onto the neighbouring Falkirk and Livingston seats – both key targets for the SNP.

Visit the BBC website for full results and analysis from around Scotland.

Vote Labour today

May 6, 2010


LABOUR supporters are being urged to get out and give their backing to the party in today’s General Election.

Here in Grangemouth Labour’s Michael Connarty is fighting to retain his seat as the area’s MP. If you believe in Labour values, please give him your support today.

Polls opened at 7 a.m. and close at 10 p.m. An election result is expected around 4 a.m. tomorrow (Friday, May 7).

Today, in message to party supporters, Gordon Brown said: “During this campaign, you have knocked on millions of doors, delivered tens of millions of leaflets, donated hundreds of thousands of pounds and spread our message far and wide online.

“And now with every poll telling us that there are still more undecided voters than ever before – you can still make a difference, by speaking to these people today. 

  • Tell them about our proud record – that we are fighting to protect.
  • Tell them about the Tory risk – that we are fighting to prevent.
  • And tell them about our plans for the future – that we are fighting to deliver.

“With all my resolve I pledge that I will always fight for the people of this country – I will secure the recovery, never put their livelihood at risk, and always always always fight for their future.”

Why you should vote on May 6

May 5, 2010

Comedian Eddie’s support for Labour

April 15, 2010

COMEDIAN Eddie Izzard is fronting Labour’s second film of the 2010 election campaign. It’s a virtuoso stand-up tribute to Britain’s great people, and a heartfelt reminder that while the Conservatives may have changed their suits, they haven’t changed their beliefs or their policies.

Michael Connarty is fighting to retain his seat as Labour MP for this area. Vote Labour on May 6.

%d bloggers like this: