Allyson and Joan selected for election


LABOUR has announced its list of candidates for the Falkirk Council elections on May 3.

The Party is fielding 16 candidates – including five new candidates and five women candidates.

At a glance:

* 16 candidates named
* 5
new candidates
5 women candidates
3 to leave Labour benches

The candidates are pictured above at the famous Falkirk Wheel.

In Grangemouth, sitting Councillor Allyson Black, the Depute Provost, will stand alongside newcomer Joan Paterson.

The town’s other Labour Councillor, Alistair McNeill, is standing down at the elections – as is Councillor Stephen Fry.

Councillor Joe Lemetti was not selected by local party members to re-contest his seat in Falkirk for Labour and will therefore leave the Labour benches this spring.

Margaret Doran, chair of Linlithgow and East Falkirk Constituency Party, said: “Labour councillors in Falkirk have achieved much in the past five years, despite an SNP government who continue to freeze and squeeze local authority budgets whilst centralising more power in Edinburgh. These 16 outstanding candidates are committed to involving local people in making local decision about how to continue to improve council services.”

Martin Murray, chair of Falkirk Constituency Party, said: “ I would hope that the Labour Party will retain control of the Council as a bastion of local democracy, faced with the SNP’s increasing centralisation of power in Edinburgh. In light of the council tax freeze reducing local accountability, and reducing services, while disproportionately benefiting the rich, we need champions who will put the people of Falkirk Council before separatist and centralist dogma. Our candidates give the public that chance.”

The candidates are:

· Ward 1, Bo’ness & Blackness

o David Aitchison, Adrian Mahoney

· Ward 2, Grangemouth

o Allyson Black, Joan Paterson

· Ward 3, Denny & Banknock

o Jim Blackwood, Terrie Hay

· Ward 4, Carse, Kinnaird & Tryst

o Charles MacDonald, Craig Martin

· Ward 5, Bonnybridge & Larbert

o Linda Gow

· Ward 6, Falkirk North

o Craig R. Martin, Pat Reid

· Ward 7, Falkirk South

o Dennis Goldie, Gerry Goldie

· Ward 8, Lower Braes

o Alan Nimmo

· Ward 9, Upper Braes

o Rosie Murray, John McLuckie

Note to Editor: for further information please contact Ian Peattie, tel. 01324 471787 email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: